Once Upon a Day in Wellington

Last Saturday I made one last visit to Wellington with Bernie to a) finally go to Te Papa and b) go to a Mexican restaurant. New Zealand has some great spicy substitutes, manifest in Indian and Thai restaurants, but very little Mexican to speak of. Fortunately with Bernie being a Wellingtonian we had no problem finding our way around.

After our bus ride there, we made a quick stop to Subway to tide us over till dinner, and on the walk to the museum we found this street:

Wouldn’t that be nice, if all the polite people lived together?

Anyway, we soon made our way to the museum …

We decided to start from the top floor and work our way down. Here’s the view of the Wellington Harbour from the sixth floor:

The museum itself was huge. I couldn’t believe how much there was to see – and it was FREE! I still can’t get over that. I’m not a big museum person but I would highly recommend this one. They also had a great exhibit on New Zealand immigrants, which, being the genealogy glutton that I am, I loved.


About the New Zealand women who married American soldiers

Protests of the World Cup during the Apartheid

View from the other side of Te Papa

The Beatles embracing their Maoriness 🙂

The doors leaving Te Papa. Very clever designer, I think!

After about four hours – though it certainly didn’t feel that long! – we left Te Papa and made our way to Pan de Muerto for dinner. On the way we saw this advert:

Yeah.

Then we reached the restaurant, which had this banner out front:

For those of you who don’t know (i.e. Americans), 1987 is the last time New Zealand made it to (and won) the Rugby World Cup. They won again this year (!) but more on that in an upcoming post.

For dinner, I had chicken enchiladas with a pollo con mole sauce. But rather than describe it, I’ll just show it to you:

That’s sour cream and onions drizzled over the top (Yum). Afterwards I realised I probably should have had something spicier, but it was still great. Not AS great as American Mexican food (yes, I realise that’s kind of a contradiction …) but still worth the trip.

Afterwards Bernie and I walked along the Oriental Bay, where we enjoyed the boardwalk, the beach whose sand had been imported from Nelson, and the old houses. Oh, and some Kapiti ice cream 🙂

On a park bench on Oriental Bay. I thought it was really sweet.

Do you see what I see?

Let's hope there's not a mudslide ...

Eh, we tried 🙂

Some of the flags of the countries in the World Cup

The train station where we picked up our bus home

Our bus back to Palmy wound up being an hour late, but even that couldn’t put a damper on a great day. It was a fantastic last visit to Wellington!

And finally, the much-anticipated song of the day: Up Around the Bend by Creedence Clearwater Revival, because a) my daddy raised me on this band, b) every time I listen to them after a long hiatus I get really excited to rediscover them, and c) it’s one of my favourite songs to work out to.

All the Best,

Andrea

About Andrea Nicole

NZ enthusiast in the PNW. Internationally published writer, editor, grammar lover, genealogist, educator, and all-around storyteller. Recovering homebody. @Whitworth alumna - @gobucs!
This entry was posted in Semester Two. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

